<< Back to all Blogs
Login or Create your own free blog
Layout:
Home > Category: Saving Money
 

Viewing the 'Saving Money' Category

Frugal Office

November 12th, 2015 at 01:05 am

I had a cheap desk when I lived in NH and gave it to my son's friend who helped pack the moving truck. Space was limited and the kid really liked it.

Anyhow, I hadn't been in a hurry to replace it down here in FL until now. Since I am self-employed again, I really need one. Sitting on couch with the laptop for hours wasn't cutting it. I found a cheap desk on Amazon for $62.50 that would suit my needs. I had Amazon credit so after tax it only cost me $2.17 out-of-pocket. When DH was putting it together, the slide out for the keyboard was missing. Not a big deal since I use a laptop, but I did let Amazon know. They credited me $12.60!

I also needed a chair since I had given my son my other office chair. I didn't have the heart to take it back after three months. I drove by a thrift store today and stopped in. I got a very nice cloth chair with head rest in mint condition for $20.

After figuring in what I gained back in Amazon credit, I spent $10 for a desk and chair. Not bad at all!

Financial Update

September 9th, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Total income from mystery shopping income for August is $1337.21. This was my best income month ever for mystery shopping, but I worked hard at it this summer. Most shops were completed within 25 miles of my house, but I did travel (as much as 150 miles) for a few highly bonused shops.

As I previously stated, I reworked the budget for fall (our income varies so I went on the low end). Savings will be as follows:

EF-Continue with $26.50 per week (easy version of 52 week challenge)
Short term savings: $50 per week
Roth IRA-$300 per month

If I make more than anticipated, I will split it between debt payments and savings.

My "guaranteed" monthly income is as follows:

$650-Mystery shopping (approximately 15 hours per week)
$1625-Tutoring (30-35 hours per week)
$550-VA Work (5 hours per week)
$600-Child support
$575-DH portion of household expenses

Total= $4000

Debt:

Car:approximately 6k left on my loan (site is down so can't get exact amount at the moment)

Student loans: $27170.35






Tough Month

January 16th, 2014 at 06:14 pm

I knew it was going to be a tough month. We are on a no spend month other than absolute necessities. DH is working as a long-term sub which meant two weeks of no income over the holidays. Of course with snowstorms and the holidays, the tutoring business was less than stellar as well. So far, we haven't had to hit up the emergency fund (and I have managed to save for the 52 week challenge).

I am trying to pick up some extra writing assignments because both of the cars are in my name and I have to register them and get them inspected (I hate having a January birthday). I expect one will need new tires (registration and inspection are saved for all year, the tires will be a bit of a stretch). Luckily, I picked up three new students (tutoring) this week. I will let you know how it all pans out at the end of the month.